Thursday, April 27, 2017

Pursued


Nikki Boyd's flight into Nashville was routine--up until the crash landing at the airport. When the dust settles, Nikki discovers that the woman who had been seated next to her on the plane is missing--and no one will admit she was ever there. Erika Hamilton had been flying to Nashville with an air marshal as a key witness in an upcoming grand jury trial. When she flees from the crash, is she running from trouble or straight into it? Before Nikki can even see her family, she and her team are pulled into a missing persons case where the motives are as unclear as the suspects.

Bestselling and award-winning author Lisa Harris has planted danger around every turn in this can't-put-it-down thrill ride that will leave readers stunned.

My thoughts: I think this may be my most favorite of the Nikki Boyd Files! The story starts off running when Nikki is in a plane crash and is left to wonder if she was imagining the passenger on the plan next to her. As the suspension mounts during the search for a missing witness, Nikki races the clock and a killer bent on silencing the witness once and for all. I liked that there was a lot going on, so the story's pace is fast. I loved the twists and turns! I only hope that this is not the end of the series!
I received this book through Netgalley in exchange for my honest review.

The Lost Girl of Astor Street




When her best friend vanishes without so much as a good-bye, eighteen-year-old Piper Sail takes on the role of amateur sleuth in an attempt to solve the mystery of Lydia’s disappearance. Given that Piper’s tendency has always been to butt heads with high-society’s expectations of her, it’s no surprise that she doesn’t give a second thought to searching for answers to Lydia’s abduction from their privileged neighborhood.

As Piper discovers that those answers might stem from the corruption strangling 1924 Chicago—and quite possibly lead back to the doors of her affluent neighborhood—she must decide how deep she’s willing to dig, how much she should reveal, and if she’s willing to risk her life of privilege for the sake of the truth.

Perfect for fans of Libba Bray and Anna Godbersen, Stephanie Morrill’s atmospheric, jazz-age mystery will take readers from the glitzy homes of the elite to the dark underbelly of 1920s Chicago.

“Downton Abbey in downtown Chicago—a must read!” —Allison Rushby, author of The Heiresses

My thoughts: In a lot of ways, this book was not at all what I expected! The story drew me in right away, and I love that there is so much going on with the mystery! I love how Piper develops as a character, as she is thrown out of her comfort zone and left without her best friend. She's a delightful heroine who is strong and feminine at the same time.
I'm hopeful that this one will turn into a series.;)
I received this title through Netgalley in exchange for my honest review.

Radical Spirit


Feeling burnt-out from life, strung-out from social media, and put out by a society that always wants more from you? Beloved nun and social activist Joan Chittister, who appeared on Oprah's Super Soul Sunday, offers a practical, character-building, and inspirational guide to help you take control of your emotional life and redirect your spiritual destiny.

Joan Chittister, whom Publishers Weekly calls "one of the most well-known and trusted contemporary spiritual authors," is a rabble-rousing force of nature for social justice, and a passionate proponent of personal faith and spiritual fulfillment. Drawing on little known, ancient teachings of the saints, Sister Joan offers a practical program to help transform our thinking and rebel against our fears, judgments and insecurities.

"Freedom from anxiety, worry, and tensions at home and work, comes when we give ourselves to something greater," she argues. "We need to seek wisdom rather than simply facts, to think before speaking, and in turn create respectful communities." With a series of twelve simple rules for healthy spiritual living, Chittister not only reminds us, but pleads with us, to develop enduring values by shifting our attention to how God wants us to live. This book will teach you how to accomplish this.

My thoughts: This is the first book I have read by Joan Chittister. When I saw that she is a force for social justice, something that seems to be a theme with a lot of the books I have been reading, I had to pick this book up. This book is excellent. This book is inspiring and came at a timely manner for me. I look forward to reading more by her!
I received this book from Blogging for Books in exchange for my honest review.

Tuesday, April 25, 2017

Catching the Wind


What happened to Brigitte Berthold?

That question has haunted Daniel Knight since he was thirteen, when he and ten-year-old Brigitte escaped the Gestapo agents who arrested both their parents. They survived a harrowing journey from Germany to England, only to be separated upon their arrival. Daniel vowed to find Brigitte after the war, a promise he has fought to fulfill for more than seventy years.

Now a wealthy old man, Daniel's final hope in finding Brigitte rests with Quenby Vaughn, an American journalist working in London. He believes Quenby's tenacity to find missing people and her personal investment in a related WWII espionage story will help her succeed where previous investigators have failed. Though Quenby is wrestling her own demons--and wary at the idea of teaming up with Daniel's lawyer, Lucas Hough--the lure of Brigitte's story is too much to resist. Together, Quenby and Lucas delve deep into the past, following a trail of deception, sacrifice, and healing that could change all of their futures.

My thoughts: I love Melanie Dobson's stories, since she does such a wonderful job of bringing the characters and time period to life! I love how there is a lot going on with several different story lines. This is one of my favorite stories of 2017.:) The overall theme of the story, that God loves us and sometimes it takes a while for us to be able to see how His plan has worked out. (the whole, hind sight is 20/20 thing) If you are looking for a wonderful, historical tale that is hard to put down, then I highly recommend this one!
I received this book from Tyndale in exchange for my honest review.

Monday, April 24, 2017

Take ten(ish) things that will instantly make me not want to read a book



1. Violence
In movies and books, I'm not interested in unnecessary violence. I like my mysteries and war stories, but not if they are graphic.

2. Junk
I don't enjoy a story if it is going to have curse words and "scenes".

3. Horror movie style suspense
Yeah, I have an active imagination as it is, so I if a book is suppose to creep readers out, I don't even pick it up.

4. Science fiction
Don't get me wrong, a little bit of the genre is okay, but I won't pick up a book if it is hard core Sci-Fi.;)

5. Stories that glorify abuse
I don't think abuse is okay, and I shudder at what books like Shades of Gray are teaching the next generation. That sort of relationship is not okay in any way, shape, or form.

6. Steamy romance
Yes, I like my stories with a bit of romance, but I like for there to be something else to the story as well.

7. Modernizing Regency
This genre is just so wrong to me.

8. Love triangles
These can be done well, but rarely....

9. Overly gorgeous characters
I like characters I can relate to.;)

10. Insta love
I will read these on occasion, but I generally am turned off by it.

Think Again


Evaluating yourself—being mindful of who you are and what you are doing—is necessary and can lead to positive change.

But what about the dark side of introspection? Do you ever feel weighed down and exhausted by your own self-analysis? Perhaps you made a mistake, said a careless word, or even messed up big time. Your self-examination spirals into a full-blown cross-examination. You keep revisiting what happened. Your mind circles around the event, fruitlessly trying to somehow make the outcome different so you don’t feel the embarrassment, shame, and regret.

The modern self-esteem movement has left us empty and self-focused. We exhaust our healthy introspection and pervert it into constant self-evaluation, wrong views of ourselves, self-accusation, and false guilt. Introspection was never meant to bear such weight.

Think Again offers real relief from the burden of introspection that so many of us carry each day. Pastor Jared Mellinger, who tends to overdose on self-analysis himself, shows us how the hope of the gospel can rescue us from the bad fruit of unsound introspection. Mellinger’s short, story-filled chapters help readers identify and turn away from unhealthy introspection.

There is an outward-focused God who delights to rescue an inward-focused people and lead them into a better way to live. When we truly understand it, we’ll see that the gospel actually sets us free from thinking about ourselves too much. We can seek after and pray for the peace and joy—the sanity—that comes from thinking about ourselves less often. Think Again includes practical instructions for self-examination, fighting false guilt, breaking free from hyper-introspection, and more. Ultimately, Think Again demonstrates that the solution to thinking too much about ourselves is to look to Christ, and it gives readers the tools to begin to turn from the mirror.

My thoughts: This is an excellent book that talks about about how introspection can be taken too far and used to distract us from Jesus. I thought Jared did a wonderful job of showing us where our focus should be. This is an excellent book!
I received this book from Litfuse in exchange for my honest review.

Wednesday, April 19, 2017

Behind the Scenes


Miss Permilia Griswold, the wallflower behind "The Quill" gossip column, knows everything that goes on in the ballrooms of New York. When she overhears a threat against the estimable Mr. Asher Rutherford, she's determined to warn him. Away from society's spotlight, Asher and Permilia discover there's more going on behind the scenes than they anticipated.

My thoughts: This book is a charming story of a young wall flower during the Victorian era. I loved the glimpse in the time period, which was made all the more fun by Permilia's attention to detail as a writer. I enjoyed getting to know the characters of this story, as they were thrown together through unusual experiences. If you are looking for a fun, quirky story, then pick this one up!
I received this book from Bethany House in exchange for my honest review.