Friday, April 28, 2017

The Sound of Emeralds Birthday Blog Tour


Hello and welcome to The Sound of Emeralds birthday blog tour! I’m posting today
about Rachelle Rea Cobb’s third installment in the Steadfast Love series, an
inspirational historical romance set during the 16th century!
Rachelle is also the author of The Sound of Diamonds and The Sound of Silver, the
first two books in the series. She has also written Write Well, a guide for writers! Last
summer, she married a man with the same first name as the hero of the Steadfast
Love series! I’m joining in this blog tour to tell you a little more about Emeralds and
spread the news about the rocking giveaway Rachelle is hosting—make sure you
enter using the Rafflecopter form to win signed copies of all three books!

ABOUT The Steadfast Love SERIES
In 16th-century Europe, the Reformation rages between Protestants and Catholics.
Gwyneth, half-Dutch, flees from England to Holland to escape the man who
murdered her parents. When he follows her there and insists he came to rescue her,
will she trust this man called Dirk? When tragedy strikes, will their steadfast love
erode?

ABOUT THE AUTHOR
Times gone by snatch Rachelle Rea Cobb close, so she reads and writes about
years long ago--her passions include the Reformation, Revolutions, and romance.
Rachelle wrote the Steadfast Love series during college. Five months after she
graduated, she signed a three-book deal with her dream publisher, WhiteFire. She's
a homeschool grad, Oreo addict, and plots her novels while driving around her
dream car, a pick-up truck. In June 2016, she married a man with the same name as
her fictional hero, and they live happily ever after in Small Town, South. She is also
the author of Write Well, a guide for writers, which released on March 4th!

AUTHOR LINKS
Website: http://RachelleReaCobb.com/
Facebook: http://facebook.com/RachelleReaCobb
Twitter: https://twitter.com/RachelleReaCobb
Pinterest: http://www.pinterest.com/RachelleReaCobb/
Instagram: @RachelleReaCobb
Amazon Author Page: http://www.amazon.com/Rachelle-Rea/e/B00RZHIL1Q
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/8144149.Rachelle_Rea_Cobb
ABOUT The Sound of Emeralds
What once was blazing hatred has turned to lasting love, but could the union of a wild
heart with that of a lady ever result in more than heartache?
With the help of an old friend with uncertain loyalties, Dirk inches ever closer to clearing
his name. Gwyneth throws her faith into good tidings and the promise of a future as a
family. But an old evil comes to call, just as tragedy rips apart a fledgling truce. Enemies
from the past and grief for the future threaten to tear asunder what God had brought
together…
As the date of Dirk’s trial approaches, his fate and his family hang in the balance. Will he
be proven innocent of Gwyneth’s parents’ murders—or separated from her forever? How
much pain does it take to erode a love steadfast?

Enter using the Rafflecopter form below to signed copies of ALL THREE of
Rachelle’s novels. The whole series, signed!
International friends, this giveaway is open to continental U.S. addresses only
(sorry!). But do still enter, because one international winner will also be chosen
to receive all three e-books

a Rafflecopter giveaway

The Joy of Letting Go


Whether your kids are in kindergarten or college, learn how to prepare your hearts for your kids’ independence with Vicki Caruana’s The Joy of Letting Go. The 52 devotional readings within shine a light on all the times readers have loosened their grip on their children and encourages them to continue to let go in life-giving ways. Written by a parenting and education expert, The Joy of Letting Go will comfort and inspire parents in all seasons of parenting.

My thoughts: Even though I have a ways to go before I have to let my little ones fly from the nest, I still found this book immensely enjoyable! It is an excellent devotional for parents at all stages, since a lot of the topics are applicable to younger children on up. I love the reminders of the end goal for parenting, preparing your child to one day no longer need you. Vicki does a wonderful job of engaging readers with humor, while dealing with some weighty topics. If you are a parent, I highly recommend this one!
I received this book from Litfuse in exchange for my honest review.

Thursday, April 27, 2017

Pursued


Nikki Boyd's flight into Nashville was routine--up until the crash landing at the airport. When the dust settles, Nikki discovers that the woman who had been seated next to her on the plane is missing--and no one will admit she was ever there. Erika Hamilton had been flying to Nashville with an air marshal as a key witness in an upcoming grand jury trial. When she flees from the crash, is she running from trouble or straight into it? Before Nikki can even see her family, she and her team are pulled into a missing persons case where the motives are as unclear as the suspects.

Bestselling and award-winning author Lisa Harris has planted danger around every turn in this can't-put-it-down thrill ride that will leave readers stunned.

My thoughts: I think this may be my most favorite of the Nikki Boyd Files! The story starts off running when Nikki is in a plane crash and is left to wonder if she was imagining the passenger on the plan next to her. As the suspension mounts during the search for a missing witness, Nikki races the clock and a killer bent on silencing the witness once and for all. I liked that there was a lot going on, so the story's pace is fast. I loved the twists and turns! I only hope that this is not the end of the series!
I received this book through Netgalley in exchange for my honest review.

The Lost Girl of Astor Street




When her best friend vanishes without so much as a good-bye, eighteen-year-old Piper Sail takes on the role of amateur sleuth in an attempt to solve the mystery of Lydia’s disappearance. Given that Piper’s tendency has always been to butt heads with high-society’s expectations of her, it’s no surprise that she doesn’t give a second thought to searching for answers to Lydia’s abduction from their privileged neighborhood.

As Piper discovers that those answers might stem from the corruption strangling 1924 Chicago—and quite possibly lead back to the doors of her affluent neighborhood—she must decide how deep she’s willing to dig, how much she should reveal, and if she’s willing to risk her life of privilege for the sake of the truth.

Perfect for fans of Libba Bray and Anna Godbersen, Stephanie Morrill’s atmospheric, jazz-age mystery will take readers from the glitzy homes of the elite to the dark underbelly of 1920s Chicago.

“Downton Abbey in downtown Chicago—a must read!” —Allison Rushby, author of The Heiresses

My thoughts: In a lot of ways, this book was not at all what I expected! The story drew me in right away, and I love that there is so much going on with the mystery! I love how Piper develops as a character, as she is thrown out of her comfort zone and left without her best friend. She's a delightful heroine who is strong and feminine at the same time.
I'm hopeful that this one will turn into a series.;)
I received this title through Netgalley in exchange for my honest review.

Radical Spirit


Feeling burnt-out from life, strung-out from social media, and put out by a society that always wants more from you? Beloved nun and social activist Joan Chittister, who appeared on Oprah's Super Soul Sunday, offers a practical, character-building, and inspirational guide to help you take control of your emotional life and redirect your spiritual destiny.

Joan Chittister, whom Publishers Weekly calls "one of the most well-known and trusted contemporary spiritual authors," is a rabble-rousing force of nature for social justice, and a passionate proponent of personal faith and spiritual fulfillment. Drawing on little known, ancient teachings of the saints, Sister Joan offers a practical program to help transform our thinking and rebel against our fears, judgments and insecurities.

"Freedom from anxiety, worry, and tensions at home and work, comes when we give ourselves to something greater," she argues. "We need to seek wisdom rather than simply facts, to think before speaking, and in turn create respectful communities." With a series of twelve simple rules for healthy spiritual living, Chittister not only reminds us, but pleads with us, to develop enduring values by shifting our attention to how God wants us to live. This book will teach you how to accomplish this.

My thoughts: This is the first book I have read by Joan Chittister. When I saw that she is a force for social justice, something that seems to be a theme with a lot of the books I have been reading, I had to pick this book up. This book is excellent. This book is inspiring and came at a timely manner for me. I look forward to reading more by her!
I received this book from Blogging for Books in exchange for my honest review.

Tuesday, April 25, 2017

Catching the Wind


What happened to Brigitte Berthold?

That question has haunted Daniel Knight since he was thirteen, when he and ten-year-old Brigitte escaped the Gestapo agents who arrested both their parents. They survived a harrowing journey from Germany to England, only to be separated upon their arrival. Daniel vowed to find Brigitte after the war, a promise he has fought to fulfill for more than seventy years.

Now a wealthy old man, Daniel's final hope in finding Brigitte rests with Quenby Vaughn, an American journalist working in London. He believes Quenby's tenacity to find missing people and her personal investment in a related WWII espionage story will help her succeed where previous investigators have failed. Though Quenby is wrestling her own demons--and wary at the idea of teaming up with Daniel's lawyer, Lucas Hough--the lure of Brigitte's story is too much to resist. Together, Quenby and Lucas delve deep into the past, following a trail of deception, sacrifice, and healing that could change all of their futures.

My thoughts: I love Melanie Dobson's stories, since she does such a wonderful job of bringing the characters and time period to life! I love how there is a lot going on with several different story lines. This is one of my favorite stories of 2017.:) The overall theme of the story, that God loves us and sometimes it takes a while for us to be able to see how His plan has worked out. (the whole, hind sight is 20/20 thing) If you are looking for a wonderful, historical tale that is hard to put down, then I highly recommend this one!
I received this book from Tyndale in exchange for my honest review.

Monday, April 24, 2017

Take ten(ish) things that will instantly make me not want to read a book



1. Violence
In movies and books, I'm not interested in unnecessary violence. I like my mysteries and war stories, but not if they are graphic.

2. Junk
I don't enjoy a story if it is going to have curse words and "scenes".

3. Horror movie style suspense
Yeah, I have an active imagination as it is, so I if a book is suppose to creep readers out, I don't even pick it up.

4. Science fiction
Don't get me wrong, a little bit of the genre is okay, but I won't pick up a book if it is hard core Sci-Fi.;)

5. Stories that glorify abuse
I don't think abuse is okay, and I shudder at what books like Shades of Gray are teaching the next generation. That sort of relationship is not okay in any way, shape, or form.

6. Steamy romance
Yes, I like my stories with a bit of romance, but I like for there to be something else to the story as well.

7. Modernizing Regency
This genre is just so wrong to me.

8. Love triangles
These can be done well, but rarely....

9. Overly gorgeous characters
I like characters I can relate to.;)

10. Insta love
I will read these on occasion, but I generally am turned off by it.